Camera Review- Yashica Twin Lens Reflex, Shooting Squares

Recently I’ve had the pleasure of shooting with a 6×6 twin lens Yashica and its fair to say that I fell in love. The little Yashica is basically like a Rolleiflex, looks just as good but with half the price tag. I’ve been debating on downsizing to a smaller camera for a long time, in the past I’ve shot with a Mamiya RZ67, an amazing camera that served its purposeĀ but now I don’t have a studio facility to hand and I’m to lazy to lug around a tripod it’s sadly been collecting dust. So as a means to start taking more pictures I thought it would better to trial something a little more portable but still a medium format.

I got my trial Yashica film processed and these are few of the results, up until frame 8 I was doing well until I tried to use the wheel that winds the film on as the focus, so one of the snaps is a little overlapped, however it doesn’t look awful and sometimes mistakes can end up looking neat. Shot over a few weekends spread across Devon and Sussex.

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbHAutosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

Film used- 120mm Kodak Portra 400 ISO (buy here)

Music blogged to- Allah Lahs ‘Allah Lahs’ (2012), listen to the album on Spotify.

1 comment
  1. For recent updates on my blog posts and photography follow me on Twitter @sophiajwise

Leave a Reply

